Tags

, , , ,

The boring title doesn’t do this dish justice.  Trust me.  The sweet potato layer is so creamy and spicy and the toasted cheese with it?  Mmmmm.  The quinoa is good, too, but I honestly think I could make a gratin dish out of the sweet potato topping.  Once, when I was feeling particularly lazy, I just mixed frozen corn and black beans, and used that as a base for the sweet potato topping.  And it was just as good.  The original recipe is from here.  It is absolutely perfect as is… unless you’re me and you change every recipe.  (It’s a time honored family trait.)  And unless your daughter can’t tolerate citric acid.  In which case you cry a little bit and then leave out the tomatoes and lime juice.  I had a tip from a friend to double the amount of chipotle sauce, which I think is brilliant, if you don’t mind the added calories.  I prefer to use chipotles in adobo (which I puree and keep frozen by the tablespoonful).  I looooove chipotles in adobo.  Love.  I tried this recipe several times and could’t quite get the sweet potatoes to cook through like they were supposed to, so I’m recommending to partially cook them before hand.  I’m posting my version here, but follow the link to the original if you want the full flavor of the lime and tomato.

1.5 cups quinoa

3 cups water

1/2 tsp salt

1 tbsp jarred jalepenos, seeded and minced

1.5 cups cooked black beans

1 cup shredded mozz cheese

2 lbs sweet potatoes, sliced thin 

1/2 cup mayo

1/2 cup milk

1 tbsp chipotle in adobo, pureed

2 cups shredded mozz

 

Boil water, add 1/2 tsp salt and quinoa.  Bring back to a boil before reducing heat and cooking, covered, for 15 minutes or until quinoa is cooked.  Meanwhile, steam or boil the sliced sweet potatoes until they’re not quite done.  Preheat oven to 400.  Mix quinoa, jalapeño, beans, and S&P to taste.  Press the quinoa mixture in to the bottom of a casserole dish.  Sprinkle with 1 cup of mozzarella. Combine mayo, milk, and chipotle, and toss the sweet potatoes in this mixture.  Layer the sweet potatoes over the quinoa, pour the remaining chipotle sauce over the whole thing, and top with 2 cups of mozzarella.  Cover and bake 40-60 min or until the potatoes are soft and the top is brown.  You want it toasty.  The chewy, toasty cheese is one of the best parts.  

 

