Tags

, ,

Last week I found big cans of Libby’s Pumpkin Puree on sale for .25 cents a can.  .25 cents!  Naturally, this means I’m making a lot of pumpkin recipes this week.  Today, all the kids helped me to make these Pumpkin Banana Muffins.  I always look for a recipe that’s low on sugar, so the fact that this recipe only had 2/3 cup caught my eye.  Honestly, I think we could have cut it back to 1/2 cup.  We’re not used to much sugar around here.  We didn’t have enough banana so we subbed some extra pumpkin puree.  The kids loved this recipe and had fun figuring out how to double it.  Fraction math!  We used coconut oil in place of vegetable oil and left out the orange juice, nuts, and the honey called for in the original recipe.  I’m saving this recipe for future reference!  Moist, light, sweet, and not horribly unhealthy!  

1/4 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup greek yogurt
2/3 cup brown sugar (or less!)
2 large eggs
1 cup pureed pumpkin 
1 cup mashed banana
1 tsp vanilla extract
1.5 cups flour
3 Tbs ground flax meal
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease muffin tins with coconut oil. Mix sugar and wet ingredients in a medium bowl.  Mix dry ingredients in a larger bowl.  Combine the two with just a few strokes.  Fill muffin tins and bake 15 min or so until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  (I never have toothpicks.  How about a fork?)

