We love a good veggie burger, but most store bought versions have about a bazillion ingredients.  How can they claim to be healthy for me if they leave out the meat, but stuff in a bunch of unpronounceable ingredients?  We’ll do an Amy’s Organic burger or a Don Lee Farms Veggie Pattie (our favorite!), but often we just make our own.  I love the Chubby Vegetarian Black Eyed Pea Burger for it’s simplicity, but I need to tinker with the seasoning a bit.  And about 7 years ago I got a white bean burger recipe from our local paper.  It’s great, but it takes a bit of prep work.  Today I found a really great Black Bean Burger recipe on Allrecipes.  Perfect.  Not too much prep work, but tasty, and well seasoned.  At first I was afraid that they were going to be too spicy, but once they were cooked and dressed in a sandwich, they weren’t at all!  I only altered the recipe slightly; I used red and yellow peppers in place of green pepper, onion powder in place of diced onion, and pretzels instead of bread crumbs (because I never have breadcrumbs on hand).  I chose to fry these in a frying pan with a little bit of avocado oil. Even the kids ate these without complaint.  And they went perfectly with oven baked sweet potato fries.

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1/2 a bell pepper (any color)

3 cloves garlic

1/2 Tbsp onion powder

1 Tbsp chili

1Tbsp cumin 

1 tsp salt

1 egg

1/2 cup (ish) bread crumbs, crushed crackers, or pretzels

Finely chop the pepper and garlic in the food processor.  Mix all ingredients together except the breadcrumbs.  Add the breadcrumbs a little at a time, just until the mixture holds together well, but is not too crumbly.  Bake at 350 for 10 min on each side, grill, or cook for 5 min on each side in a frying pan with a little oil.  Add a slice of cheese once you flip them, so it will get all melty.  

