Tags

, ,

This is the recipe I use for my children’s chocolate birthday cakes.  It’s a very moist, almost brownie like cake that is perfectly chocolatey.  And it comes together in about 10 minutes, which is awesome because I generally have balloons to blow up and presents to wrap and don’t have a lot of time to fuss with a cake.  It seemed odd to me that the recipe called for boiling water, but I’m now a believer!  I think it must add to the moistness?  Either way, this cake is yummy.  The original recipe is a Hershey’s Cocoa recipe.  I’ve altered it only slightly to use healthier ingredients.  But only slightly.  It is still birthday cake, after all.  We usually ice it with an icing that is equal parts butter and cream cheese with a tsp of vanilla and enough powdered sugar to make it thick enough to spread.  Cocoa powder turns it in to a chocolate icing.

2 cups sugar

1 3/4 cup flour (I use a blend of white whole wheat and white flour)

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 cup milk

2 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup cocoa powder

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

2 eggs

1/2 melted coconut oil or butter

1 cup boiling water

Preheat oven to 350. Prepare your baking pans by greasing them liberally with coconut oil and flouring them.  Mix all dry ingredients.  Mix all wet ingredients except boiling water.  Stir the wet in to the dry while you bring your water to a boil.  Last, mix in the water.  Pour in to prepared pans.  Bake 1 pan for 35-40 mins.  Bake cupcakes for 22-25 mins.  

