I’m not sure where I got this recipe.  Maybe from the Horizon Organic website?  It’s been a long time since I’ve made it because I just can’t make it without the tomatoes.  But it was so good, and inexpensive!   In my version I double the cornbread topping so it goes a little farther, and you can also throw in more beans or some chicken if you want heartier portions.

1 can black beans

1 can tomatoes with chilies

2 tsp cumin

1 tsp dried cilantro

1 cup cheddar cheese

1 1/2 cups flour

3/4 cup cornmeal

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

1 Tbsp sugar

1/4 cup butter

1/4 cup sour cream mixed with 1/2 cup cold water

Preheat oven to 350. Mix the first 5 ingredients (reserving some of the cheese) and spread in a 9×9 casserole dish.  Top with remaining cheese.  Whisk together remaining ingredients and drop by the spoonful over the bean mixture.  Bake for 45 minutes or until topping is cooked through.  Serve with sour cream or greek yogurt.

