This recipe is so simple.  It sounds like it couldn’t possibly be delicious, but somehow it’s craveable! My mom gave me the book “Diet for a Small Planet,” (Who has my copy?!?  It’s out there somewhere…) and this recipe is from that book.  The author suggests that you top it with a salad, but I find that suggestion strange.  We eat it as a thick stew, or a spread, with pita bread.  

Mjeddrah

1 1/2 cup dry lentils

4 cups water

3 Tbsp olive oil

2 large onions, chopped

1/2 tsp salt (ok.  let’s be honest.  I add a lot more.  Let’s say “to taste”)

3/4 cup brown rice

Whatever seasoning you prefer.  My favorites are file powder or cumin.

Rinse lentils.  Bring to a boil in the 4 cups water, reduce heat and simmer for 25 minutes.  Heat 2 Tbsp oil in a skillet.  Sauté onions and salt until onions are translucent.  Heat remaining oil in another pan and sauté rice for 3 minutes.  Combine lentils, onions, and rice.  Cover tightly and simmer 1 hour.  Up to 2 more cups of water may be needed to cook rice.  I add the extra seasoning at the end.

