This is a dish that Matt and I disagree on.  I love it.  The kids and I find it comforting and delicious.  Matt will choke it down.  I make it more often for lunch when he’s not home, but there are some days that dinner needs to be quick, easy, and inexpensive.  This dish is all of those things!  I’ll often grill a couple of chicken tenders and dice them up in the rice, which is a great way to stretch the protein for me and 4 kids, but it’s almost as filling without the chicken.  

Vegetable Fried Rice:

3 cups of brown rice, cooked and cooled (day old is best)

1 Tbsp oil

1/2 onion, diced finely (optional)

2 cups frozen mixed veggies

2 eggs

soy sauce (or your preferred soy-free, wheat-free whatnot)

Heat oil in a sauté pan or wok.  Sauté onions until they’re nearly translucent.  Add the frozen mixed veggies and sauté them until they’re tender.  Scoot the veggies to the side of the pan so you can crack the eggs in the pan and scramble them.  Once the eggs are scrambled, put the rice over the veggies and eggs and mix it all up.  Drizzle with soy sauce and heat through.  Mix in chicken if you’re using it.  

