This is one of my go-to recipes when I take a meal to a family who just had a baby.  It’s comfort food, and I can make two batches at once if I use a double crust pie recipe.  (I’m a big fan of The Joy of Cooking’s pie crust recipe.  Chill EVERYTHING: butter, bowl, and water.  That’s how you get a flaky crust.)  I got this recipe from the Horizon Organic website, but they have changed the recipe since I wrote it down, and I’m a big fan of the old version.  Here it is:

Veggie Pot Pie:

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 Tbsp butter

1 onion, finely chopped

1 garlic clove

1 cup each (whatever you have on hand, really) celery, carrots, parsnips, green beans, mushrooms, peas, etc. I often use a bag of frozen mixed veggies for the cheap and easy factor)

1/4 cup veggie broth

1/2 tsp thyme

S &P to taste

1/4 cup flour

2 cups milk

1 Tbsp parsley

worcestershire sauce (or soy sauce if you’re vegetarian)

1 cup cheddar cheese

Your favorite pie crust

Preheat oven to 400.  Saute onion and garlic in 1 Tbsp olive oil and butter, then add veggies, broth, thyme, and salt & Pepper.  Simmer 5 minutes, covered.  Sprinkle veggies with flour and stir 2 minutes.  Stir in milk and parsley.  Simmer and stir until thickened. (about 5 minutes) Remove from heat, gradually stir in cheese.  Pour in to a pie pan or baking dish.  Top with pie crust.  Bake 20-25 minutes, or until bubbly and pie crust is browning.