Even though we have a citric acid allergy in the house, I attempt to grow tomatoes every year just so I can have a tomato sandwich, and a tomato pie.  I say “attempt” because every year my tomatoes are stolen by the darn squirrels.  But I was just gifted with several very ripe tomatoes, and I wasted no time in making this.  I had been dreaming of it for years, but had never had enough garden tomatoes to make it and for some reason I just never got around to buying some tomatoes and making it.  I’m weird.  I know.  Anyway, I made this tonight and my 4 year old son (who hates tomatoes) actually asked me to write it in a recipe book for him to have when he’s a Daddy.  So he can make it for his kids.  He liked it that much.  Next time I’m going to have to make two pies.  This tomato pie recipe is straight from the Simply Recipes site.  I’m including my go-to pie crust recipe and instructions on pre-cooking the pie crust.  This recipe is really simple once the pie crust is done.  

Tomato Pie

1 cup flour

1/2 tsp salt

6 1/2 Tbsp butter

1/2 onion, chopped (optional.  I leave it out.)

3 large tomatoes

1/4 cup sliced basil

2 cups cheese (I use cheddar.  Monterey Jack would also be great.)

3/4 cup mayo

S&P

1 tsp Franks Red Hot Sauce

Slice tomatoes and leave them to drain in a colander while you prepare the pie crust.  Preheat the oven to 450.  Chill your bowl, flour, and butter thoroughly.  Have a bowl of ice water ready.  Work quickly so the butter doesn’t melt.  You want nice little chunks of cold butter mixed in to the pie dough.  Mix the flour and the salt.  Cut the butter in to the flour until the pieces of butter are around pea sized or slightly smaller.  Drizzle 3 Tbsp of ice water over the surface of the flour and stir with a fork.  You can add a little more ice water if you need to until it can just barely hold together in a slightly crumbly ball.  But don’t add to much water!  You don’t want it to be doughy or smooth.  Once it’s just barely holding together, carefully roll it out in to a circle that is about 1/4 inch thick.  This may be tricky, as it will want to flake apart, but that’s good.  It means your pie will also be flaky.  Keep working quickly to keep your butter cold.  Once it’s rolled big enough, use your rolling pin as a tool to help you move the dough in to the pan: roll the dough around the rolling pin, and then unroll it over your pie pan.  Shape the edges how you prefer.  Prick it a few times with a fork, and bake for 10 minutes.  Now it’s ready for the filling.  Turn the heat down to 350.  While your pie crust is baking you can caramelize the onion if you prefer.  Squeeze any excess moisture out of the tomatoes.  Sprinkle the bottom of the pie with onions (either raw or caramelized) and layer with sliced tomatoes and finally chopped basil.  Mix the shredded cheese, mayo, S&P, and hot sauce.  Spread on top of the pie.  Bake at 350 for 25-45 min until the top is starting to brown. 

 

 

 

