If I want to love my husband well, I make him homemade pretzels and beer cheese.  Birthday?  Hard day?  Just because?  Pretzels and beer cheese.  The only warning I have for those of you who are making this for your husbands: don’t use his good beer. You know, the one that he buys in a 4 pack because they’re so fancy?  Nope.  Don’t do it.  Use a PBR.  You’ll end up with a nice, mild flavor AND you won’t break your husband’s heart.  I don’t really measure any of this, so I hope you’re able to decipher this recipe, but I don’t think you can go too far wrong with a little tasting and seasoning to taste.

About 2 cups of cheddar cheese

light beer

2-3 cloves of garlic

1 tsp (or so) of dijon

3-4 drops of tabasco

salt to taste

Pour about 1/3 a can of beer in to your food processor (start small.  if you use too much beer, you’ll end up having to add 2 pounds of cheese just to make your dip thick enough.) add the remainder of the ingredients and puree.  Add more cheese if you need the dip to be thicker.  Add more beer if it’s too thick.  Add more garlic, dijon, and tabasco if you want it to be more flavorful and/or spicy.  Let this dip sit for an hour if you can stand it.  It tastes better the longer the flavors are able to mingle.

