This is one of those instances in which Pinterest did not let me down.  I made these bars to take to book club, and I really could have just stayed home with a spoon and the entire pan to myself.  I especially liked them after a quick chill in the fridge.  It makes the fudge layer really smooth and… well… fudgey.  I didn’t change a thing about this recipe except that I had to make my own sweetened condensed milk because I had none on hand.  But I don’t think that made much of a difference.  I highly recommend you take a visit over to Living Beyond Measure and get a look at the gorgeous pictures of these delectable treats.  You’ll definitely want to make them then.

1 cup butter, softened

2 eggs

2 cups brown sugar

1/3 cup milk

2 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. salt

3 cups oatmeal

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1/3 cup butter

1 tsp vanilla

2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350.  Mix butter, sugar, eggs, and 2 tsp vanilla, then stir in the 1/3 milk.  Gradually add dry ingredients.  In the microwave, melt the chocolate chips, 1/3 cup butter, 1 tsp vanilla, and condensed milk until it’s smooth.  Butter a 9×13 baking dish.  Spoon 1/2 of the batter mixture in to the bottom, pour the chocolate mixture over the batter, and then scoop small scoops of the remaining batter over top of the chocolate layer, trying to cover the chocolate as much as possible.  Bake for 25 minutes.  Let it cool completely before you cut it.  I recommend chilling it, but maybe that’s just me.  In any event, the chocolate needs to set up before you cut it.

